Finally an owner

New to the Jaguar XE Forums? Introduce yourself here
GavinG

Finally an owner

Post by GavinG » Fri Apr 16, 2021 7:46 pm

Introducing my XE R-Sport in Carpathian Grey!

wash.jpg

martins.jpg

drive.jpg

I’ve been talking about getting one of these for a couple years now (‘cos they’re gorgeous!) – I’m coming from an A6 3L V6 with a CVT, so the pure power and smoothness of the transmission I’m not going to compare (that 3L would do 50mpg also!)
I hope to be a relatively active member of the forum, I tend to want to make ‘my mark’ on cars when I get them and it wouldn’t be unusual to see the dashboard taken out of a car in my first week of ownership 😃 – plus I tend to document any modification nonsense I get into and post it to owners forums.
Bit of a shame to see the quick config options aren’t as plentiful as they were on previous cars, for example with the A6 you could connect in with a laptop, an ODBC dongle and some VCDS software and make changes such as e.g. having rear lights come on with DRL’s (yes that was optional!), adjusting level of brightness of DRL’s etc etc - just loads of little simple changes, there were literally pages of little things you could turn on or off, super handy, but anyway.

It’s only 2016, I was kinda aiming for 2018, but I fell in love with this colour and it was pretty well spec’d;
Pano roof
19” alloys
Remote services (need to organise a subscription I guess, ‘cos out of warranty)
Nice blue illumination in the doors that goes well with the cream/black interior (this may be standard illum I dunno)
Electric sunshade thing for rear window (I really don’t know what the use of that is!)
– plus it only has 38k miles with Jag service history and paint work is in very good condition, it has swirls from car washing but these will come out with a polish when I drop it with a detailer.

Things I’ve already done:
Have already changed the bulbs in the boot and footwells to LED, the rest are already LED

Hardwired Dashcam